South Dakota Technology Business Center

South Dakota Technology Business Center Expands Board and Announces New Appointments

Sioux Falls, S.D., March 30, 2016 – The South Dakota Technology Business Center (SDTBC), an organization serving emerging businesses and fostering entrepreneurship in Sioux Falls and the surrounding region, today announced it is expanding its board to 11 members.

Joining the board as new members are Dr. Debra Sepich of the University of Sioux Falls and Mike Vetter of DataSync. Additionally, Dr. Pamela Homan of Augustana University will replace Burke Blackman as a Development Foundation appointed board member and John Henkhaus of The Everist Company will replace J. Tyler Harr as a Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce appointed board member. The Chamber also reappointed Keith Severson of Eide Bailly.

“First, I want to recognize and thank our outgoing board members. It’s their dedication, commitment and valuable insight that has guided us to12 years of success, and positioned us for future growth,” said Rich Naser, Jr., president of the SDTBC. “Secondly, I want to welcome our new members. We are excited to tap into their unique strengths and expertise, and benefit from their new insights as we continue to move the SDTBC forward.”

The board provides strategic guidance to the organization as it develops services and partnerships to serve entrepreneurs building businesses that grow Sioux Falls’ economy. In addition, board members play an important role in various initiatives, programs, and having a presence at events throughout the year. There are no term limits for Chamber and Foundation appointed members, although their terms generally correspond to their service on the respective Boards of Directors. Jointly appointed board members can serve up to two three-year terms.

“The SDTBC also works closely with business leaders, universities, entrepreneurship groups and civic and government agencies to increase the speed to launch and rate of success of start-ups,” added Naser. “The expansion of our board to include representatives from these universities as well as a former client will be a valuable asset as we continue to evolve our service to entrepreneurs.”

About the New Appointments and Members

Dr. Pamela Homan, Augustana University

Dr. Pamela Homan, Augustana University

Dr. Pamela Homan is Executive Director of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Augustana University, where she leads initiatives designed to build strategic partnerships with industry leaders, business heads and curators of creativity. The SDTBC recently partnered with Augustana to launch the “Entrepreneurial Mindset Academy,” an eight-week program designed to help participants discover problem-solving opportunities and think like entrepreneurs, which begins April 7, 2016.

John Henkhaus, The Everist Company

John Henkhaus, The Everist Company

Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce representative, John Henkhaus, Family Office Head for The Everist Company, has a long record of service to the community, including serving on boards for the Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation, Downtown Sioux Falls, Washington Pavilion, Bishop Dudley Hospitality House and Help!Line.


Dr. Debra Sepich, University of Sioux Falls

Dr. Debra Sepich is the Dean of the Vucurevich School of Business and Entrepreneurial Leadership at the University of Sioux Falls. An accomplished entrepreneur and Oregon native, Sepich has taken a non-traditional path to higher education administration and represents both the wisdom of experience and vitality of the students.

Mike Vetter, DataSync Corporation

Mike Vetter, DataSync Corporation

Mike Vetter is founder and Chief Technology Officer of DataSync Corporation, a software advisory and engineering firm he started at the SDTBC, which has grown to more than 30 employees with plans to reach 40 employees in 2017.

“The business leaders of Sioux Falls invested in me through the SDTBC when I was getting my businesses off the ground,” said Mike Vetter of DataSync. “South Dakota is a unique and exceptional place to launch a business. I’m excited to have the opportunity to join the board and contribute to the next generation of entrepreneurs building their businesses here.”

South Dakota Technology Business Center ­– 2016 Board of Directors

Name Organization Board Position Appointed By  
Steve Statz Avera Health Chair Development Foundation  
Paul Ten Haken Click Rain Vice Chair Jointly  
Keith Severson Eide Bailly Secretary/Treasurer Chamber  
Evan Nolte Sioux Falls Area Chamber of Commerce Member Chamber  
Slater Barr Sioux Falls Development Foundation Member Development Foundation  
Dr. Venky Venkatachalam University of South Dakota Member Jointly  
Sherri Rotert Greenfield Rotert Law, P.C. Member Jointly
Dr. Pamela Homan* Augustana University Member Development Foundation  
John Henkhaus* The Everist Company Member Chamber  
Dr. Debra Sepich** University of Sioux Falls Member Jointly  
Mike Vetter** DataSync Corporation Member Jointly  

* New Appointment

** New Member